Ferienhaus Quay West

Nur 90 Auto-Minuten nördlich von Kapstadt entlang der R 27, an der Mündung des Berg Flusses, liegt das ruhige Dorf Velddrif: das Tor zur "Bokkom Republik". Der Ort selbst ist 2 km flussaufwärts vom Atlantischen Ozean gelegen. Der kleine Fischerort entstand in den späten 1800er und frühen 1900er Jahren. Heute ist Velddrif ein Hotspot für Touristen mit Vorliebe für die einfachen Freuden des Lebens: Aufrichtigkeit seiner Bewohner, viele verschiedene Vogelarten, Wildblumen im Frühling und natürlich der schöne Berg Fluß mit seinen zahlreichen Wasserstraßen.

Berg River Brücke, Salz, Flamingos, Bokkoms, Fischer und schöne Strände am Atlantik... ja, das ist Velddrif! Es scheint ein fast vergessener Ort an der Westküste zu sein, aber Ihr werdet überrascht sein, wieviel Leben da draußen ist.

Die Westküste begrüßt Euch mit Ruhe, Stille und Frieden. Jede Menge interessante Dinge gibt es zu erkunden. Die Berg-Flussmündung ist Heimat einer Vielzahl von Wasservögeln, einschließlich des kleinen Blue Heron. Flamingos und Pelikane, Otter und Wasser-Mongoose sind ein alltäglicher Anblick.

 

Velddrif


Das relativ milde Klima ist ähnlich wie am Mittelmeer. Perfekter Aufenthaltszeitraum für Velddrif ist von Ende Januar bis Mai. Die kleine Ortschaft hat den geringsten Wind von allen Dörfern der Westküste vom Kap der Guten Hoffnung bis hin zum Orange River an der namibischen Grenze. Aber selbst zwischen den Winterstürmen gibt es wochenlange Abschnitte mit herrlichem Sommerwetter.

Back to top

Quay West - Self Catering

Velddrif is a hidden treasure, a small quiet village where the pace of life is leisurely. The West Coast galleries display artwork from over 100 artists of the surrounding area, including pieces from local fishermen. Rich in birdlife and fynbos, the village acquired its name in years gone by when a local farmer used a drift to allow his stock to cross the river to find new grazing.

Just 90 minutes from Cape Town North along the R27 at the mouth of the Berg River lays the tranquil village Velddrif, the gateway to the “Bokkom Republic”. The town is situated 2 km upstream from where the Berg River flows into the Atlantic Ocean at St Helena Bay. It came into existence as a fishing village during the 1800s and early 1900s. Today Velddrif is a hotspot for the tourist with a taste for the simple pleasures of life, the town’s appeal being its old world charm and heritage, sincerity of its inhabitants, birdlife, wild flowers and beautiful waterways.

Berg River Bridge, salt, Flamingos, bokkoms, fishermen and beautiful beaches … yes, that is Velddrif! It is an almost forgotten spot on the West Coast but you will be surprised how much life is out there.

Peace, silence and West Coast tranquility will greet you along with lots of space to explore. The Berg River Estuary is home to a huge variety of water birds including the little Blue Heron. Otters and water mongoose are a common sight. Flocks of flamingos and pelicans use this area as a base.

The fairly gentle climate is Mediterranean and from the end of January through to May the Velddrif area is the nicest place to be. Velddrif has the least wind of any West Coast towns from Cape Point to the Orange River. Even in winter: although there are a few really rousing Northerly storms, there are week-longs gaps of summer weather.

Velddrif

 

Back to top